Australian High Commission
New Zealand
Cook Islands and Niue

Australian High Commission,

New Zealand

The Australian High Commission is the official representative of the Australian Government in New Zealand. We provide a range of services to the general public, including consular, passport, visa and immigration, citizenship and cultural relations services. We also act on behalf of various Australian Government authorities by representing Australia's interests to local, regional and multilateral government and business organisations in New Zealand.

Head of Mission

Australian High Commission to New Zealand, His Excellency Peter Woolcott.

Peter Woolcott

Elections and Overseas Voting

The Australian Federal Election will be held on Saturday 2 July 2016.

If you are registered as an overseas voter, you can vote in person on or before polling day at the Australian High Commission in Wellington or the Australian Consulate-General in Auckland.

Early (in-person) voting will commence on weekdays from Monday 20 June. For hours of operations in Wellington and Auckland, please click here.

For all other information, please visit the Australian Electoral Commission's website www.aec.gov.au

Job vacancy

The Australian High Commission in Wellington is currently advertising for a Protocol and Visits Officer.  Applications will be open until 5pm (NZD) Tuesday 5 July 2016. You can view the job description here.

Office contact details and opening hours

Australian High Commission (Wellington)

72-76 Hobson St, Thorndon, Wellington, New Zealand

PO Box 4036, Wellington, New Zealand

  • Phone: (64 4) 473 6411
  • Fax: (64 4) 498 7135
  • Email: nzinbox@dfat.gov.au

Passport counter hours: Monday to Friday 9:00am to 12:30pm and 1:00pm to 4:00pm

The Australian High Commission will be closed on the following days:

  • Monday 8 February 2016
  • Friday 25 March 2016
  • Monday 28 March 2016
  • Friday 22 April 2016
  • Monday 6 June 2016
  • Monday 26 September 2016
  • Monday 24 October 2016
  • Monday 26 December 2016
  • Tuesday 27 December 2016
  • Wednesday 28 December 2016
  • Thursday 29 December 2016

Australian Consulate-General (Auckland)

Level 7, Price Waterhouse Coopers Tower, 186-194 Quay St, Auckland, New Zealand

Private Bag 92023, Victoria St West, Auckland 1142, New Zealand

  • Phone (64 9) 921 8800 - Option 3 for Passport Enquiries
  • Fax (64 9) 921 8820 - Passports and Austrade
  • Fax (64 9) 921 8822 - Visas

Passport counter hours: Monday to Friday 9:00am to 12:30pm and 1:00pm to 4:00pm

The Australian Consulate-General will be closed on the following days:

  • Monday 1 February 2016
  • Monday 8 February 2016
  • Friday 25 March 2016
  • Monday 28 March 2016
  • Monday 25 April 2016
  • Monday 6 June 2016
  • Friday 21 October 2016
  • Monday 24 October 2016
  • Friday 23 December 2016
  • Monday 26 December 2016
  • Tuesday 27 December 2016
  • Friday 30 December 2016

Quick links

Find us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter